Scorecard error screws young golfer out of historic victory5/16/2012
High school senior Caroline Inglis was about to become the first golfer of either sex in Oregon history to win four consecutive state championships when a bit of bureaucratic nonsense caused her to be disqualified from the latest victory. After Inglis shot nine fewer than her closest competitor, she signed and turned in the scorecard that her partner had filled in with a mistake on the 18th hole. Even though Inglis attempted to fix the error as soon as she became aware of it, the ridiculously by-the-rulebook fussbudget organizers refused to let her take home her rightful championship. Somebody chuck those officials into a water hazard.
Rules are rules, or give the girl her championship already?